Time On My Hands…

Well sadly, the market downturn in IT has caught me up. I was made redundant from Artis Group a few weeks ago and am now looking for work. If anybody is looking for a .NET or SharePoint architect/lead, give me a buzz (DerekJMillerAThotmail.com).

So now that I have some time on my hands, looks like its time to get back to some interesting technical stuff (in between applying and interviewing for jobs).

 

I have a few options:

1. From some previous posts, you will have noticed I am a bit of a DSL fan, especially with the DSL capabilities available in VS2008. A long while ago on this blog I started to walk through a DSL project to use a DSL designer to generate ORM data access classes (and associated database artefacts). I have seen quite a few ORM layers over the years and dislike the typical approach of generating the ORM layer from the database table. I prefer to design the domain objects needed then have entity classes, data access and databases stuff all generated. It’s a bit more object centric than database centric, which is what ORM should be about and allows one to define a proper object hierarchy with explicit shallow versus deep loading (again, I am not a fan of lazy loading as it is not well enough understood and results in serious performance issues due to the misunderstandings).

2. I also have a little background project on the go to implement an SMS broadcasting, social networking site. I am looking at doing an ASP.NET and a Silverlight (3 or 4 depending on timing) interface for it. This a bit commercially sensitive so may not get much public coverage, except for interesting technical tidbits I find doing the work.

3. And finally, I am super keen to do some more stuff with SharePoint 2010. This is the version us developers have been waiting for; full 64 bit development support, develop on windows 7 (instead of server) and a lot more VS support for SharePoint development and some more bits we can get at….nice!

So, where to start?

I’ll think about that and let you know tomorrow…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

